Football Management

Commentary on the management of over 160 English football clubs by Dr John Beech, winner of the FSF Writer of the Year Award 2009/10 Twitter: @JohnBeech Curator of Scoop.it! Football Finance

For once, a personal note

Posted by John Beech on February 4, 2013

Apologies to regular readers for an ‘off topic’ posting, but, to be fair, this is a personal blog.  Rest assured – it will not become a habit.

The sharp-eyed may have noticed a change in the ‘About’ section.  One of those apparently landmark life events occurred at midnight last Thursday – I went from being a full-time employee to ‘senior citizen’ status.  Although I was actually 65 in October, it is only now that I have chosen to switch to being a pensioner.

From Friday, my relationship with Coventry University changed.  I have accepted an Honorary Research Fellowship, which means that I retain my affiliation to the university, but any work I do for them in future is by mutual agreement and subject to individual contract.

Quite what this change will mean in practice remains to be seen.  I guess I’ve been lucky that in recent years my day-job has included what I would actually choose to do by free choice – research football finance and governance.  Not for me a shift to an allotment then!

I plan to continue and perhaps extend my lecturing in Sports and Events Management, public speaking, researching and consultancy.  As I write, I have commitments every month until July in, first, Madrid and then in Kufstein, Austria.  In November I will be spending three weeks lecturing at the Russian International Olympic University in Sochi.

There will of course be significant gaps in my diary, and I plan to focus even more on my particular interest – the role of fans in football governance and club ownership.

How this will affect my blogging is not yet clear.  If things go the way I envisage, I would expect ‘normal service’ to be maintained.  There is unlikely to be a significant increase as I have only ever posted when I felt I had something worthwhile to say.  My tweeting of NEWS items should be unaffected.

My transition from employee to ‘retiree’ should, all in all, be rather less of a transition than for most people.  I see it as an opportunity, and am open to interesting offers!

3 Responses to “For once, a personal note”

  1. At least that will give you some more time to make this site even more amazing! Keep up the good work John!

  2. John. No problem at all. But, we are really waiting for your writings . Long time, no see :(

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

